Notes

About MJordan

My first camera was a gift from my Daddy on my 7th birthday (October, 1940) -- a Kodak Brownie Six-20 (a little box camera.) Next, I "inherited" an Argus C3 from my Daddy. He had used that camera to photo his tour of duty in the Army during WW II. I have made a huge album of those photos. When I graduated from high school in 1951, Daddy gave me a Leica C3. I used this range-finder (as in, not SLR) camera to photo our trip to Europe in 1952. No changeable lens, no zoom, no built-in light meter. I used a hand-held light meter and manually set the camera for every photo. Next came marriage and children and the need for a "point and shoot," so I got an Instamatic -- and, along the way, a Polaroid. Then as time moved along I wanted something better than an Instamatic, so I bought a Minolta XD11, which I used for about twenty years before I purchased a Nikon N70, then an N80. I said I would never go completely digital, but "gave in" and moved to a Nikon D70 and now a D90, in addition to a little Nikon Coolpx P5000 -- and the ubiquitous iPhone (which gets surprisingly good photos.) Did I come to be a photo-addict because I was given a camera very early in life? Or was it in my genes inherited from my Daddy? Probably the latter. Why else would he have even thought to give me a camera as I turned seven. He was a picture-lover and instinctively felt that I might be. He took hundreds of photo during his time in the Army. When he returned home and he, my Mother and I did a bit of traveling, he pointed out that I did not need to buy souvenirs -- that my photos were my souvenirs. How right he was! The trinkets would be long gone. The photos are still with me -- in print and/or on computer. Treasures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

